Date: 8/12/2011
Time Started: 7am
Workout: Long Run
Mileage: 16
Time: 2:27:31
Avg Pace: 9:13
Weather: 68, Sunny and Breezy
Felt: Good
Nutrition During Run: 6c water, 1 GU Vanilla Bean Gu
Previous Night Dinner: Prosciutto and Mozzarella Panini
Pre-workout meal: 1 piece of rye toast w/ peanut butter

Summary:

It was a gorgeous morning for a long run, I could not have asked for better weather. I used the first 2 miles to warm up, and I use that term lightly because as usual I ran them faster than I would have liked by about 30–60 seconds. I’ve been trying to run the first 75% of my long runs at about a 9:30-10 minute mile pace and then the last 25% at an 8:45 – 9:15 minute mile pace. So far I’ve done the exact opposite, except for the last mile when I tend do a sub 9 pace giving it everything I have left. Today was no different. I ran a steady 9-9:15 mile pace, miles 1-11. Mile 12 was a struggle; it was pretty much all up hill. I probably should have had a second Gu at this point, but I had one around mile 7 and felt I was still okay without a second. Miles 13 and 14 were tough, but I had recovered from the hill sequence and kept a steady pace of around 9:15. Mile 15 was horrible. I was dehydrated and had run out of water. Being so close to finishing I didn’t want to stop to get some. I powered through it hitting my slowest pace of the run finishing the mile at 9:48. Mile 16 was a serious mind game. I kept counting down the minutes I had left to run and comparing that amount of time to other moments in my life where the time had gone by quick. Crazy I know, but also highly effective. I finished my last mile in 8:45, my fastest of the run. I felt exhausted more so than usual, but after a glass of water and a glass of chocolate almond milk I was in much better shape. I foam rolled and stretched and although I felt tired, my body felt good.

