This morning my alarm went off at 5:15 and I struggled out of bed to get ready for my Thursday morning running group.  By 5:40 I was out the door and en route to the meeting spot which is about a mile away from my apartment.  That mile gives me time to mentally prepare myself for the normal speed workout we do.  I am not a fan of sprints, so this is a tough mental battle!

Upon this morning’s arrival I was informed that we were doing a speed/hill combo workout……………Are you effing kidding me?! Because I don’t detest sprints enough so let’s throw some ridiculous hill repeats in too!?!

Anyway, it was a true test of mind vs. body.  I ended up doing really well.  I actually impressed/surprised myself and was able to get through the workout without a problem.  I did almost puke at the top of Beacon Hill a few times, but I made it!  And every time I got to the bottom and finished with a sprint, I felt good!

This is why I love my running group.  I am pushed to attempt workouts which I would never do on my own.  We struggle as a group and we succeed as a group.  Most importantly we cheer each other on the whole way.  I’m already looking forward to next week! (Yes, I’m crazy.)

