This morning on the way to the gym I took a quick picture of the Commonwealth Avenue Christmas lights in Boston.  Since it’s still dark out they’re still brightly lit.  This is the ONLY perk to the lack of daylight we’re experiencing right now! Pretty.

Last night I ran/walked home from work.  I figured instead of hitting the gym I would get some fresh air and a good look at everyone’s Christmas lights.  WRONG! Guess what?  In Brookline there are apparently no Christmas lights! FAIL!

Once I got home I whipped up a batch of Parmesan Roasted Green Beans, but this time I added Brussel Sprouts too…awesome!  I also made mini pizza’s on a Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat sandwich slim.

Hermove’s Pizza Slims

Ingredients:

1 Trader Joe’s Whole Wheat Slim
1/4 cup Trader Joe’s Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
4 Tablespoons Trader Joes’s Marinara Sauce
1/4 cup Fresh Sliced Mushrooms
Red Pepper Flakes
Parmesan Cheese

Directions:

Split Slim into 2 halves and set on a piece of foil that can comfortably fit both.  Cover each half with a healthy amount of mushrooms.  Top mushrooms with 2 Tablespoons of marinara sauce per half.  Next, sprinkle an equal amount of shredded mozzarella cheese on each half.  Season with a sprinkling of red pepper flakes and grated parmesan cheese.

Place foil and pizza slims into toaster oven (I LOVE my toaster oven!) and toast for 3-5 minutes or until mozzarella begins to brown.  Remove and let cool a bit.  ENJOY!

This Pizza Slim recipe holds approximately 215 calories and 7.5 grams of fat.  It also holds around 15 grams of protein!  If you pair it with one serving of Parmesan Roasted Green Beans and Brussel Sprouts (as pictured above), you will be consuming around 300 calories and 10.5 grams of fat in total!  Pretty amazing!  It’s extremely filling too!
Happy Tuesday!

