Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago I flagged this Peppermint Bark recipe from one of my favorite blogs, Peanut Butter Fingers.  It was submitted by another blog reader named Molly.  Well Molly, wherever you are, your recipe is a hit!  Thank you so much for sharing! I made a batch for both my roommates and my coworkers and from what I hear everyone (including myself) is in love!

I wanted to make a similar version for my boyfriend who is on a low-carb diet.  I searched everywhere online to find a low-carb Peppermint Bark recipe and I found next to nothing.  I decided to use Molly’s recipe and switch it up a bit to see if I could create my own low-carb version.  To do this I made the following changes:

  • Replace white chocolate with Unsweetened Bakers Chocolate
  • For each of the 2 layers mix 1/2 package unsweetened chocolate and 1/2 package semi sweet chocolate
  • Top with Sugar Free Candy Cane pieces or crushed Brach’s Sugar Free Peppermint Star Brites instead of regular Candy Canes

The two types of chocolate melted together create a more intense, higher percentage cocoa while keeping the flavor sweet and not too bitter.  My boyfriend and his family loved it, so I’m thinking this is a success!  My favorite part is that there is no addition of artificial sweeteners which is very rare for a low carb dessert!  If you’re looking for a seasonal low-carb recipe I recommend you give this a whirl.

