Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Sunday!  NFL playoffs are officially here!  Although I’m a Boston girl, I am NOT a Patriot’s fan.  I am a very loyal GIANT’S girl!  And the Giant’s made it into the playoffs by way of the Wild Card spot this year…thank Christmas! As I write this post we’re just about at half time, 7-2 Giant’s…so hopefully they can keep their lead for the second half.

When I think of football I think of football parties with lots of amazing apps.

Sidebar:

HAVE YOU SEEN THESE?

Hint of Lime has started a seriously amazing trend.  I saw these at Shaw’s this morning and somehow managed not to buy them.  Instead I decided to make a just as filling, just as delicious football appetizer which will not leave you feeling awful post-game!

Meet my plate:

What we have here is one serving of Trader Joe’s (TJ’s) Pretzel Slims covered by one serving of TJ’s Shredded Mozzarella melted in the microwave.  Also, one extra-large helping of baby carrots.  For dipping I included one serving of TJ’s 3-Layer Hummus dip and one serving TJ’s Spicy Black Bean Dip.  That’s a pretty GIANT appetizer. 🙂  And the nutrition facts are awesome:

Credit: LiveStrong.com

I will say it is a bit high in sodium, but the fat and calorie content are not bad at all.  And a great protein content, 14 grams!  Overall, I think this is pretty solid!

As you can see in the picture above I did add on a glass of red.  This is a new to me wine called “Crush” by The Dreaming Tree.  The Dreaming Tree is a type of wine semi-created by Dave Matthew’s, hence the DMB like names.  Crush is a red blend that is honestly an excellent wine.  I received it as a gift for Christmas and now it will probably be by new go to wine.  The Dreaming Tree also makes Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon which I will definitely need to try.

I hope everyone is having a great weekend, GO GIANTS!

