Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi Guys!

Sorry I haven’t posted in a few days.  I am going to blame work and this:

Boston finally got some measurable snow! It took until mid January, but it happened.

Today I want to talk about some of my favorite things to eat, how I make them and what the nutrition facts are.  I love sharing healthy food ideas and I’m always excited to learn new ones, so I hope you’ll find this useful!
Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Mashed sweet potatoes are so healthy, so filling and SO easy to make.  I usually eat these as a side dish with dinner or as an afternoon snack.

Directions:

Wash off 1-2 sweet potatoes depending on size.  Place in microwaveable bowl (skin on or off, I like it on) and heat for 5 minutes on high.  Remove and mash with fork.  Add a half Tablespoon of butter and a dash of milk or half and half for a smoother texture.  Season with nutmeg and cinnamon.  If you want to get crazy sprinkle with grated parmesan 🙂

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Roasted brussel sprouts are my favorite veggie dish.  I make these at least two nights a week.

Directions:

Cut one cup of fresh brussel sprouts into quarters and place them in a ziplock bag.  Add one teaspoon of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of grated parmesan, and a dash of dried thyme, black pepper and sea salt.  Make sure bag is securely closed and shake until sprouts are well coated.  Empty contents onto foil covered tray and bake for 5 minutes (or until you see some brown) at 400 degrees in either the oven or a toaster oven.  I’m a huge fan of the toaster oven when I want something quick! Once sprouts are done baking let cool for a few minutes, add an extra sprinkle of parmesan and enjoy.

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

White Veggie Pizza

One of my favorite comfort foods is pizza…but I’m not a huge fan of red sauce.  I finally found a good way to make my own white sauce pizza that is not nutritionally horrible.

Directions:

Let 2 servings, or 1/4 of one package of Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough warm up to room temperature.  Spread the dough out on a foil covered tray (toaster tray in my case).  In a small sauce pan add one teaspoon of fresh crushed garlic to one ounce of goat cheese.  If you shop at Trader Joe’s you can buy a bag of goat cheese medallions which are pre-portioned one ounce servings, perfect for quick recipes like this one.  Warm the garlic and goat cheese on low heat until they can be combined into a smooth paste.  Spread sauce onto dough.  Cover with whatever veggies you want.  I typically use mushrooms and onions.  Cover pizza with 1/4 cut shredded mozzarella.  Bake in oven or toaster oven at 450 degrees for 7-10 minutes.  When you notice the cheese browning and the edges of the crust rising it’s done!  Remove and season with parmesan and red pepper flakes for an extra kick.

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

Gorgonzola Gnocchi with a Veggie Twist

This is a must have Trader Joe’s recipe as the main ingredient is a Trader Joe’s frozen meal.  With that said I hope you have a TJ’s store near you or can at least find a good substitute because this is unreal! Comfort food that’s not so bad for you, my fav.

Directions:

Lightly spray a large pan with olive oil spray and add 1/2 an onion, 1 yellow pepper, and 1 cup of sliced mushrooms.  Heat on medium low.  While the veggies are cooking, empty one package of TJ’s Gnocchi Al Gorgonzola into a microwave safe bowl.  Heat for 4 minutes on high.  Add 2 teaspoons of sun-dried tomatoes and 1/3 cup of frozen peas.  Continue to heat for another 3 minutes.  Your veggies should almost be done cooking at this point.   Toss 2 cups of fresh spinach in with the veggies and turn off heat (they should wilt pretty quick).  Once gnocchi/pea/tomato combo is done cooking combine with veggie mixture.  Season with grated parmesan and red pepper flakes.  This will make two servings of pure comfort and amazingness!

Approximate Nutrition Facts (One Serving):

BBQ Chicken on an Everything Bagel w/ CHEESE!

More comfort food!  BBQ, cheese, breaded chicken and a bagel…how could this possibly not be an artery clogger? You shall see 🙂

Directions:

Toast a Lender’s Everything Bagel Slim on foil with one slice of cheddar on one of the halves.  While the bagel and cheese are toasting, heat 2 Trader Joe’s Breaded Chicken Tenders in the microwave for about 90 seconds.  Once everything is done cooking place chicken on top of cheese and coat with one tablespoon of BBQ sauce (I use TJ’s brand obvs).  Place other bagel half on top and mange!

Approximate Nutrition Facts:

That’s it for today!  I hope you will try some of these recipes and love them as much as I do.  The best part is that for all of these there are multiple ways you can alter the ingredients to either change the flavor or nutrition.  Have at it and be sure to let me know if you have an recipes to share!

***All nutrition fact screenshots are credit of LiveStrong.com

